Pres. signs bill helps workforce in Tampa
Jul. 31, 2018




  • Tuesday, July 31, 2018- President Trump travels to Tampa, Florida. Prior to the rally, he will sign legislation to help workforce development and speak to students there. He delivers remarks on workforce development and participates in the ceremonial signing of H.R. 2353, the “Strengthening Career and Technical Education for the 21st Century Act.”

    RELATED:

    H.R. 2353 reauthorizes the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act of 2006 (Perkins Act) to help more Americans enter the workforce with the skills necessary to compete for and succeed in high-skilled, in-demand careers. Specifically, the legislation looks to empower state and local community leaders, improve alignment with in-demand jobs, increase transparency and accountability, and ensure a limited federal role.

    The bill simplifies the requirements states have to follow when applying for federal funds and streamlines the application process to better align it with the process for submitting the state workforce development plan under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. The bill allows providers to fill out a simple local application rather than a lengthy plan.

    Read the bill and the summary

    Click the numbers to pick a video feed

    1 – White House video

    Scheduled start time
    6:10 p.m. EDT / 5:10 p.m. CDT / 4:10 p.m. MDT / 3:10 p.m. PDT

    Location